Classically Inclined

September 7, 2011

Guest post for Three Pipe Problem!

Filed under: Research — lizgloyn @ 4:12 am
Tags: ,

I’ve been a bit quiet this week, partly because I spent the weekend in Lymington and then yesterday I was completing the final stage of my move to Birmingham in preparation for the new university term.

However, I’m delighted to be able to point you in the direction of the fruit of some of my summer labours, which is a guest post over at the art history blog Three Pipe Problem on Cicero, Greek sculpture and art theft.

Cicero isn’t my usual stomping ground, but it was great fun to go and do some research on the Verrines and think a bit about the mechanics of the ancient art market – not least because one of my writing group works on temple robbery, and one of the issues that comes up a lot is when removing a statue from a temple is ‘good’ theft and when it’s ‘bad’ theft. Cicero explicitly sets up that dichotomy between Verres and Marcellus in his speech, and it’s a very interesting cultural tightrope that he’s walking.

But don’t take my word for it – click the link, read the post, and share your thoughts with Hasan, the brains behind 3PP who was kind enough to invite me to write in the first place!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,428 other followers